The Best of 2015: Shopping for Work

2015

Hello Everyone,

I took a small hiatus to concentrate on my primary job and to gain some inspiration for future blog posts. This is the first post of a series I’d like to call “The Best of 2015”.

2015 was a year of learning, growth and a lot of change for me. I was hired for an amazing position at a really awesome company, but this meant that I had to dress a certain way and so as I do with most things, I developed my own style…corporate chic. I also learned how to budget and save. I have always been a very savvy shopper but I also was a compulsive shopper. This year I learned that you don’t need a completely new wardrobe for every season and that purging your closet can be a great way to actually see what you have and come up with great new ways to put those favorite pieces to use.

As any woman, I too never have anything to wear. That is until I am in a hurry in the mornings. This year I discovered a few stores and brands that make affordably chic clothes perfect for work!

  • JCPenny – Worthington: JCPenny gets a bad rep for not carrying great quality items. The truth is that in the last few years they have improved not only in the quality of their merchandise but especially in the design. Worthington was a brand that I always associated with middle aged women, that is until I found a couple of really amazing pieces that are now a staple in my wardrobe. My favorite classic pieces from Worthington have to be their Slim Ankle Pants and their Modern Fit Straight Leg pants. Worthington also has a variety of sizes; regular, petite, curvy and tall. This is a plus because they cater to every woman! Make sure to hit the sale and clearance racks, they always have great things that are still in season for a steal of a price!
  • Nordstrom Rack – Shoes: I am a shoe lover and I am not ashamed of having way too many shoes. However this year I did find that most of my shoes weren’t really practical for work. Slowly but surely I started to transform my shoe closet into a work shoe closet. Nordstrom Rack has a huge shoe department where you can find designer shoes for 20%-70% off sometimes more during their Clear the Rack Sale which gives you and extra 25% on clearance items. I have found gorgeous Badgley Mischka’s for under $100! Shop online and save on time, Nordstrom’s shipping charges aren’t ridiculous so take advantage of that. Nordstrom also has rewards programs so take advantage of them!
  • Kohl’sDresses & Jewelry: I have to admit that Kohl’s was pretty intimidating to me, that is until I saw the amazing styles and guest designers they carried such as Jennifer Lopez, Vera Wang, Lauren Conrad, and Juicy Couture. Although I find all kinds of amazing things at Kohl’s my favorite thing to shop for here are dresses and jewelry. I always find dresses at an amazing price that I can use to work and for other occasions. Their jewelry is always very fashionable and versatile! Kohl’s always has coupons so before you hit the racks look online and get those coupons! Right now they have a New Year’s event where if you spend $100 or more you get an extra 20% off and if you spend less than $100 you get an extra 15% off. I’ve linked the coupons for both of these offers which are available in store and online.

 

xoxo, Anais
anaiszamoraacevedo@gmail.com

Instagram: @anaisazamora
Twitter: @workinggirlstyl
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/workinggirlstyleguide
#workinggirlstyleguide

Leave a Reply

