The Working Girl’s Guide to Back to School: College Edition

123

1234

12345

Happy Monday!

Now that the weekend is over and so is Summer vacation for most it’s time to re-group and re-focus on going back to school. One thing that I do have to point out is that I understand that everyone has their own personal style and some are more relaxed than others but always keep in mind that those who are your peers today could be your colleagues tomorrow and first impressions are everything.

College is of course a time for experimenting and finding one’s true self in many aspects, this includes style. I will be the first to admit that I went through quite a few style evolutions during college: all black everything, urban cowgirl, cali loving, all pink everything, and of course my sporty sweats and sneakers stage. But I had to go through this style evolutions in order to find out what I really liked and really hated. Somehow I landed in between, I can be all of the above in a week’s time but I always keep it very classic and elegant.

Something that you should always take into consideration is where you will be going to school. If you are going to school in a state known for it’s cold weather and snow then you probably want to dress accordingly and in the case of my big beautiful Texas you may want to do some research on the region’s weather. It gets more complicated when you have summer up until Thanksgiving break and then it just freezes constantly. So ladies and gents please be aware of the climate around you. (No one likes to see you wearing Uggs and shorts, you just look confused)

Another thing you want to take into consideration when it comes to planning you’re college wardrobe is what classes are you taking and how much walking do you need to do. I think it is safe to reserve the heels for your weekends, I learned this first hand the hard way. Not only did I ruin my heels thanks to my school’s cobblestone walkways but I also took a few tumbles thanks to stairs. Some classes also have rules that do not allow you to be in open toed shoes (mostly science labs). And if you are lucky like me you might just have a class that pretty much consists of taking fieldtrips on a weekly basis therefore I had to invest in comfy walking shoes.

One thing I would invest in is some good outerwear and I don’t just mean a jacket for the cold but rather umbrellas, rain boots, and a waterproof jacket/windbreaker and backpack. I cannot tell you how many times I was surprised by a random storm and ended up going home soaking wet. Don’t forget your electronics. I always kept my laptop and iPad protected from the elements.

Cardigans will be your best friend! Some of these lecture halls, labs, and classrooms will be freezing so I suggest that you always carry a light cardigan in your backpack to get you through class.

Invest in a watch. If you haven’t yet get one! Some professors hate when students are constantly on their phones so they make rules that prohibit cellphone use even for time telling.

Take it from a college grad who learned one too many things the hard way, make your college experience fun and memorable but always remember who you are and where you want to go. Base your college style off this and oh they places you will be!

xoxo, Anais

anaiszamoraacevedo@gmail.com

Instagram: @anaisazamora

Twitter: @workinggirlstyl

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/workinggirlstyleguide

#workinggirlstyleguide

Leave a Reply

